MWOA Awards - Sportsmanship

     Annually, the MWOA recognizes one individual who best exemplifies the true meaning of sportsmanship in the sport of wrestling, along with one individual for their outstanding contribution for the betterment of the sport of wrestling. The Contribution to Wrestling Award was first presented in 1965, and the Sportsmanship Award has been bestowed upon one individual since 1974. It is considered to be an extreme honor to receive these awards, and these two awards are held in high regard by all involved in the sport of wrestling throughout the state of Maryland.

     Below is a list of individuals who have received the Sportsmanship Award from the MWOA.

Year Recipient School or Association

1973-74 Terry Ward Sparrows Point H.S.
1974-75 Joe Gast Eastern Techical H.S.
1975-76 Ed Boxwell Atholton HS
1976-77 Dr. Sam Case Western Maryland College
1977-78 Tom LaMonica Friends School
1978-79 Jerry McGrath M.J.W.L
1979-80 Darwin Struble Rising Sun H.S.
1980-81 Dan Zotterelli Kent County H.S.
1981-82 Gary Scholl John Carroll School
1983-84 Buddy Hepfer Arundel H.S.
1984-85 Obie Barnes Forest Park H.S.
1985-86 Pete Chakmakas Overlea H.S.
1986-87 Andy Janquitto Johns Hopkins University
1987-88 Larry McCoy Coppin State University
1988-89 Curt Boushell Pikesville H.S.
1989-90 Paul Triplett Mount Saint Joseph H.S.
1990-91 Chris Legg Gilman School
1991-92 Bob Hutsler Dundalk H.S.
1992-93 Wavie Gibson Walbrook H.S.
1993-94 John Mayberry Broadneck H.S.
1994-95 Ron Jackson M.J.W.L. / McKim
1995-96 Jim Tavener Bowling Brook School
1996-97 Richard Jackson Wilde Lake H.S.
1997-98 Bruce Sider Glen Burnie H.S.
1998-99 Dean Cox Rising Sun H.S
1999-00 Joel Weber Hereford H.S. / Pikesville H.S.
2000-01 Dick Bitzer Annapolis Area Christian School
2001-02 Bruce Malinowski Overlea H.S.
2002-03 Bill Hyson Francis Scott Key H.S.
2003-04 Paul Joyce Severna Park H.S.
2004-05 Craig Reddish Bel Air H.S.
2005-06 Wavie Gibson Baltimore Polytechnic H.S.
2005-06 Daymon Royster Milford Mill H.S.
2006-07 Henry Mohlhenrich Westminster H.S. / Westminster Mat Rats C.W.A.J.L.
2007-08 Joe Bakewell McDonogh School
2008-09 Chris Stalker Patterson H.S.
2009-10 Tom Reese John Carroll School
2010-11 John Lowe Winters Mill H.S.
2011-12 Gregg Kessler Archbishop Curley H.S.
2012-13 Mrs Nicky Yungandreas-Schlesner Edgewood H.S.
2013-14 Brett Baier Hereford H.S.
2014-15 Desi McNelis Dulaney H.S.
2015-16 Brad Howell Oakland Mills H.S.
2016-17 Pete Welch Mcdonogh School
2017-18 Cliff Kraisser Centennial H.S.
2018-19 Kevin Medicus Fallston H.S.